Can we find peace?

Many regions of the world today seem to be involved in a chaotic turmoil. As I sit here at my desk writing this post, I cannot help but be grateful for all that I have now. After catching up on the news and reading all that has been happening in Syria, I am bewildered and a little ashamed. To be completely honest, I have not been keeping up with the conflict as well as I should have and I had no idea that this conflict is not something that has recently happened but rather something that has been going on for about a year and a half. Despite my ignorance, I realize the necessity for proper actions to be taken and the necessity to stay informed.

As this conflict is going on, I cannot help but remember the special day that occurs on Friday: International Day of Peace.

“I urge everyone, between now and 21 September, to think about how they can contribute. Let us work together to ensure that the Road from Rio leads us to sustainable development, sustainable peace… and a secure future for all.”

UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon

Although I know this peace may not happen instantly, I think it is a goal that we should all work toward. Despite the numerous factions that may divide us, the humanitarian that we have for one another should remain common.

Leave a Reply

