Debby Downer.

I’ll admit, I have not been following the republican debates as much as I should? To be completely honest, when it comes to politics, I seem to instantaneously feel down. I wonder if it is because of my stupidity to think that all people can come to an agreement and be happy? Have you ever heard someone’s proposal of an idea and immediately thought how know doubt that would be the best decision? I have, especially when it comes to politics, but you will be amazed at the amount of disagreements one could have on a single idea.

One thing that I was able to get around to yesterday was watch the state of union. In my opinion, Obama’s speech skills are amazing! I agree with a lot of ideas and I really hope he is able to go forth with his propositions. One thing that really caught my attention was when he mentioned immigration. Obama stated that it was important to take on illegal immigration: “But if election-year politics keeps Congress from acting on a comprehensive plan, let’s at least agree to stop expelling responsible young people who want to staff our labs, start new businesses, defend this country. Send me a law that gives them the chance to earn their citizenship. I will sign it right away.” Ironically, in Ethics class we are watching the movie Crossing Over which also tickles my emotional side when it comes to immigration.

I plan on writing more about political topics and voicing my opinions on that, so check back soon!

Leave a Reply

