Blurbs, Updates, Clubs, World Food Day, etc.

Hey everyone! I want to thank everyone for all the support and also I would like to think those who actually take time to read this. Life has been busy lately, but I’m getting the hang of it. This year has gotten off to such a great start and I’m excited for many of the things that are going to occur this year. To begin we had club fair a couple of weeks ago and I’m glad to say that I’m impressed. Clubs that I’m now a part of include: Haiti Club, Japanese club, green team, send a smile, and Peoples club. All of these are wonderful and I believe that with these clubs I will be able to implement my action projects. For my first project I have brainstormed some pretty neat ideas so far!

As many of you may know World Food Day is coming up on October 16th so during that week I will hopefully coordinate two events if all goes well. During that week, I will of course RAISE AWARENESS about the global poverty issues which are occurring around the world. Not only that, but I’m planning on hosting a bake sale to raise money for a local food pantry. I’ve also recently come up with a pretty good idea! At my school we have a campus shop where students can go and by various drinks, snacks, etc throughout the day. . .SO. . .I was thinking that maybe on the Friday before World Hunger Day when students purchase snacks they will be able to get a fact about global poverty, which will either be attached to the snack or they could receive a card. I think that will be an awesome way to get students informed about these issues!

That’s all I have so far! I just want to encourage everyone to get out there and make a difference. I know sometimes it can be hard and difficult, especially for me since I’m more of the shyer type, but you will feel so much better afterward. I know this year may be a long year, and there is also that fear of let down, but it’s not the end. Keep trying! Even if you get one person informed that makes a HUGE difference. 🙂


– Eboni Statham

Leave a Reply

